A few weeks after my Dad installed the interior window, we slave driving-children had him back to help with our next big undertaking: the trim. As I’ve mentioned, this house was built in the 70’s, and when we bought it in January, it was still bearing many of those less-than-inspired architectural and design features like ugly trim around all the doors and along the floor in most of the rooms.

See it here (with the ugly linen cabinet thing Anuj tore down to make room for the interior window):

The doors of our house aren’t real wood – they’re not even particleboard – they’re just horrible. We knew we couldn’t replace them (at least not yet…), so we decided we’d just paint them and replace the trim around them.

Back to our local lumberyard we went for wood that would be our trim. I knew I wanted a more ‘country’ look, but I wasn’t sure it would jive with our 70’s home – but my Dad assured me it would be great. And so we skipped over the fancy moldings you find in the city or newer homes (saddle, quarter-round, t-mold, shoe) and settled on a historic Colonial standard: 1×6 pine for the baseboards and 1×4 for the door trim. Nothing else. Plain, simple, timeless.

So my Dad set up shop in our upstairs hallway:

Anuj was put to work ripping down all the old trim. And Dad cut and installed the new trim.

After it was up, Anuj ‘sets’ the nails, which involves using a ‘nail setter’ to get them deep into the wood, and then the tops of the holes can be filled with caulk and painted.

It turned out great. Here’s the baseboard trim After:

Door trim before:

Door trim midway:

Door trim After:

Notice the way the top trim hangs ever-so-slightly over the side pieces? This is my Dad’s nod to the features of the 200-year-old house I grew up in.

In part II, I’ll show you the complete After pics – including painted doors and walls!

