There’s nothing better to take your mind off a financial crisis than a country fair. We’re planning on attending the Shaker Village Country Fair next weekend in Hancock, Mass with some friends.

Anuj and I don’t know too much about the Shakers beyond their contribution to furniture design. He’s not crazy about it, but I’m partial, having grown up with quite a bit of Shaker furniture in my old New England farmhouse. When I moved to New York, my parents bequeathed me their Shaker-style four-poster bed. I love it. So, in honor of the festival and the furniture, here’s some pictures of traditional and modern takes on the Shaker look.

Shaker style condos in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn. Click the red door for more.

Door handle, if you didn’t know.

Apartment Therapy

I can understand how the woven look doesn’t appeal to everyone. I think I like the graceful lines – they’re clean, never cold.
modernshaker.com

modernshaker.com

Shakers are supposedly anti-style. You call this bench anti-style?

New York Times

New York Times

West Elm

Catalogs cashing in on Shaker-chic.

My (now our) bed in our former Upper West Side apartment.

