A few weeks ago we got the raised beds filled with soil.

Then, with the help of this book, I came up with a plan for which vegetables we’d try in our First Garden.

  • Broccoli
  • Swiss chard
  • Lettuce
  • Hot pepper
  • Basil
  • Parsley

It’s actually a bit more ambitious than I originally intended, but the book made it sound easy.  When I showed up at the farm stand to make my purchase, it was all I could do not to add a dozen other veggies into the mix.  The plants looked so pretty and hopeful (is anyone but me still buying veggies this late in the season?), but I talked myself out of it, and stuck with the original plan.

Some of the veggies like the romaine came almost full grown.  That might be cheating.  But if we’re taking it from the garden and bringing it to our plates, it will be a success in my book.

The chard, on the other hand, will be a while before we’re eating it.   If it makes it.  I’m still not convinced I won’t kill the plants somewhere along the way – if the deer don’t get to them first.

Not sure if my planting skills are all that great.  I pretty much guessed on the spacing.  I realized only after buying 12 broccoli plants that you need two feet between each, so we only kept 6.  I ended up doing two rows of three; they got about a foot between them so hopefully they won’t push each other out.

(the hot pepper plant in the pot was only there temporarily – it got its own home in a different bed closer to the house)

I’m sort of amazed at how I’ve thrown myself into the garden.  I really thought I’d get bored or overwhelmed by the work.  Granted, it’s still early.  But the hardest work is behind me, and I think by setting small goals with no specific deadlines, it’s kept the stress away.  I’ve basically been cultivating the garden on my time line, and each task I complete has really been rewarding.  Even weeding.  I like it. Keeping it small (just 2 4×4 beds) was the best decision we made.  And now that everything’s planted, I just have to maintain it.  That shouldn’t be too hard.  Right?

