Anuj and I just returned from our annual trip to Maine where we indulged in fish tacos, fish chowder, blueberry scones, lobster rolls, and way too much Shain’s of Maine ice cream.  I’ll post pictures as soon as they’re uploaded.

We couldn’t leave without some sort of souvenir from my Nana’s garden – this year, it was a bagful of yellow beans.  It continues to amaze me that she keeps that garden so full and abundant year after year given the infrequency of her visits.  I guess I’ve got a bit of time to develop that skill.

To prevent the culture shock of going from our little island in Maine to our big island of Manhattan, we’re easing our way back into reality with a weekend stopover in Columbia County to check our own garden and maybe swim in the lake.

In the meantime, here’s some buzz about:

The art of saving a city (that city being Pittsfield) in the Boston Globe

Chris Lehrecke on Remodelista

A Great Barrington house tour in the New York Times (picture above)

Margaret Roach’s upstate garden home on Apartment Therapy (picture below)

Photos: Nathaniel Brooks for the New York Times, Maxwell Gillingham-Ryan for apartmenttherapy.com

