I’ve been away from the blogosphere for a while.  There are many things consuming my time at the moment, but primary is this.

My childhood friend Jim is a journalist who was captured by Libyan forces loyal to Gaddafi on April 5 while reporting outside the town of Brega.  He’s been detained with 2 other journalists for 33 days.  It’s heart wrenching and surreal, and I’ve been working with some tireless and devoted friends and family around the country to raise awareness on his captivity.  Perhaps you’ve read about it or seen Jim’s parents and brother speaking out on his behalf on the national news.

Obviously, it’s been hard.  It’s hard to define or reconcile or process on a daily basis as I get on the subway or weed the garden or sit with a glass of wine in front of the television.  What does this mean?  How can we stop it?  What is going to happen?  There are moments when I’m overcome with panic or helplessness and moments when I quietly cry and moments when I look at the sky and talk to Jim, hoping he hears it from his North African jail cell thousands of miles away.  The other day I went through years of old emails just to find one from him so I could laugh at the memory of how he talks to me – how we’ve always bantered and teased each other for more than twenty years.

What does this have to do with Mother’s Day?  Only that I can imagine Jim’s mother Diane needs an extra special bit of love today, so please send your good thoughts, and even sign the petition on the website to show your support.

Thanks everyone.

Love, Heather

PS Ann of From a Pebble…I missed the window to join your now-private blog – please contact me so I can continue to follow your journey!

