first things first:  Jim is home.

He arrived safely in Boston on May 20 (that’s his Mom and nephew greeting him).  May 20 is also Anuj’s birthday.  May 20 is also the day I accepted a new job (remember I warned of etsy taking over our Brooklyn office space?  well they did.  but not before my company folded.  everything has turned out fine, though, as I got said new job pretty quickly).  But those are just icing on the JIM IS HOME cake.  We’re all so relieved.  Now he can begin to heal and process the horrible 43-day detainment in Libya.

Before I move on, let me just say that people have been unbelievable in this process.  Jim’s friends are truly some of the most resourceful, supportive, team-working people I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with.  And the strangers who signed our petition and Facebook page?  They held us up the whole way through.

Next: it’s spring.

The lilacs are in bloom. Peonies are working at it.  The grass is electric green.  I’m gearing up to get back into the garden.

Finally: Susan with chickens.

I love Susan.  If you don’t know her or her writing, then get a taste on twitter @susanorlean.  She lives not too far from us, and has completely charmed me with her writer-professor-farmer lifestyle.

